Adventures in FF alternatives

I did it. I made soap. It has tiny oily pockets inside, though, which may or may not disappear with curing. It may have been caused by overstirring (?) since I had to redo it three times to get it to set up. Time will tell.

On the plus side, the non-oily parts work like soap, if not as sudsy as I’m used to. It also rinses well, leaving no scent whatsoever, which I can’t say about even the fragrance-free Dove soap I’ve been using. My oldest says the Dove smells like puke.

I’ve been trying different things as shampoo since the stores around here don’t carry it. Things like oatmeal body wash (too drying), a moisturizing liquid soap (doesn’t spread through the hair well), and the Dove bar. So far the Dove is the best. It lathers with a little elbow grease, and doesn’t dry out the hair as much as the body wash.

I did find out, however, that the body wash works well on the dishes. My dishwasher went out again so I’m washing by hand for a while. There is no such thing as FF dish soap as far as I can tell. The first night I used Borax, which, though a miracle on most other jobs, did not work well for this one. The body wash won’t  work on a greasy pan because it’s too mild, but it’s fine for the plates and glasses. The greasy pan was made for Borox. Like I said, it’s a miracle.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Yippee-kiyay! GO, li’l chicka on the prairie, GO! W00T!

    Gald to know you’re finding your way with all this, and that it’s helping you be a better, happier Sherri.

    Love ya, doll.

  2. Posted by Benjamin Rogers on September 26, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Have you ever tried Arbonne products Sherri?

  3. Posted by Sherri on September 26, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    No, I haven’t, but after looking at the website it seems I never will. Talk about sticker shock!

    Thanks for coming by 🙂

  4. Posted by Benjamin Rogers on September 26, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Yes that is definitely a “drawback” to their stuff!

  5. Posted by Mason on September 26, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    I don’t own a dishwasher, so I have to wash them by hand. I use a fragrance free dishsoap from Trader Joe’s. It does have a smell, but it doesn’t flair up any allergies and it actually is a very pleasant lavender smell.
    I even got this air freshener there, they only use orange peel extract, so it ends up smelling like orange cream.

Leave a Reply

