Fragrance-free-for-all

I have a lot of fragrance-related things to talk about so this will likely be long and rambling.

First of all, the euphoria that I felt after recognizing the problem got lost in depression. The depression was triggered by several factors, but I can’t discount the lack of fragrance as one of them. Don’t get me wrong, it is a HUGE relief to be able to say, “I have a headache because of _____,” instead of wondering why my body hates me. But it’s common knowledge that scents play a huge part in our lives, our memories, our comfort, and I have effectively eliminated those from my home environment, where I spend 95% of my time. I’m going through an adjustment period, I guess.

I made a fairly fragrance-fllled foray into the world this weekend. Saturday I scoured the thrift stores for clothes to fit my burgeoning figure (another adjustment to going FF?), then went to the grocery store. Sunday I went to Wal-Mart and spent much time near scented products looking for the non-scented versions. Ironic, isn’t it, that in order to go FF I have to first be inundated with fragrance? While at Wal-Mart I saw an old high school friend, and our hugs hello and good-bye left his cologne on my clothes. That part was worth it, but still.

Since my house is mostly FF, I can better observe the onset of symptoms when exposed to fragrance. Some chemicals instantly stab the bridge of my nose and some gradually make it harder and harder to focus. And I’ve figured out that that is the migraine trigger, the straining to focus all day after exposure. So that’s a bonus. All I have to do is learn how to do my chores and watch tv with my eyes closed and I’m fine.

TIP: It can take ten washings to get the fragrance out of your clothes, but I found that you can get rid of most of it by simply hanging them outside overnight. Two nights might be better. Inside doesn’t work. Outside.

It was a successful shopping trip, FF-wise. I’ve been buying All Free and Clear laundry detergent, but this Wal-Mart (not my usual one) had a free and clear version of Purex, which is a third less expensive. Bonus. While on that aisle, a clear bottle of dish detergent caught my eye. I didn’t want to believe it could be true, but it was! Clorox Green Works Free and Clear has no fragrance. When I realized what I had found, my eyes misted over. I kid you not.

I haven’t been able to wear make-up for a couple of months. This was the biggest deal. I kept my Almay eye shadow and mascara, but everything else had to go. Luckily, this was the period of time my chin decided to break out with a mystery rash which wouldn’t heal and I couldn’t cover up. Add that to the under-eye circles, and…oh, the hideousity. The circles are permanent, but the rash is finally clearing up, now that I can wear makeup again. *rolls eyes*

The prices of the “good” make-up sent me reeling, but I had no choice. I ended up with a mix of brands, going cheaper where I could.

TIP: The key to finding FF makeup is to look for the words mineral, natural, or organic.

I can’t say all makeup containing these words are FF, but that is what I observed in my shopping trip this weekend. I was able to find Physicians Formula equivalents in Maybelline and N.Y.C. for much, much cheaper.

What else, what else… Oh yeah, my home made soap is cured so I’ll be using it now. Stay tuned for details on that.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Interesting news, Pioneer woman. I’ll be watching to see how you do with your new stinkless soap. I still think when the technological apocalypse comes, you’ll be at the forefront. Families will travel from the far frontier to barter and trade for your home-made soap, making you the wealthiest trader in the territory.

  2. Actually, this soap does stink, just not in a painful way. After showering this morning with the soap made from lard, lanolin, and vitamin E, I smell faintly of meat. Thank god I didn’t pass any dogs while biking Maggie Rose to school just now.

Leave a Reply

