Today: Wal-Mart. Tomorrow: the world!

From the comment section

I just saved a comment from the spam pile. Daniel writes, “Flame retardants do outgas from electronic devices and they are toxic in many ways. they are neurotoxic, immunotoxic, hormone disrupting and endocrine disrupting.” I’d like to direct you to his website, Outgas Report, which links to a ton of information about the problem of outgassing. Much more than I could ever list here. Thanks for visiting, Daniel!

Another commenter, Julie, said, “I researched this problem because I have severe allergies to scents and chemicals, like bleach and other normal household cleaners. All I could find was to see an allergist.” Julie, what cleaners do you use? How about your family’s body products? Have you been able to find any you can tolerate?

~~~

I’m sorry I’m not more organized on here, y’all. It’s mostly due to laziness. Well, laziness plus my other blog seems to suck my blogging time. I’ve thought about doing some in-depth posts on, for example, the FF products I use. But that requires concentration, organization, multiple links…ugh! I’m more of a community organizer than a drill sergeant. It may have something to do with my sleepy chemical-laden synapses. 😉

One interesting development to report: At my local Wal-Mart I requested they carry a certain free and clear dish detergent which I have been buying at Wal-Mart in another town. I talked to a lovely associate named Cara, who listened patiently as I lamented my difficulty in finding FF products as well as the symptoms of fragrance sensitivity. She took my name and number and said she would speak with her manager and let me know what she found out.

The days went by, and I didn’t hear back. I expected that Cara had handed off my number to management and went about her business, and that management either didn’t order the product I wanted or they didn’t think about calling to let me know.

Well, Cara herself called me yesterday, just to let me know what was going on. It touched me that she had taken a personal interest in my plight. She said that they were still waiting to hear back from the buyers, who were not only ordering the single product I’d requested, but also looking into what other fragrance-free products they could find. Hallelujah! Hopefully they’ll come up with some shampoo, which I also mentioned, and lots of things I didn’t expect.

The moral of the story: It never hurts to ask. And sometimes you get an answer which goes beyond the query. Now I’m thinking of writing up a letter to the editors of my local newspapers. I have dreams of being a paid FF consultant for Wal-Mart, relocating to Bentonville, AR, and making sweeping changes in the world of retail.

But those things would require concentration, organization…well, you know.

4 responses to this post.

  1. How awesome that WalMart actually called you back! I guess other people have been asking for these products too, if they’re interested in stocking other types. That rocks! Maybe now you’ll have more success finding what you’re looking for. 🙂

  2. Well, they haven’t called me back again. Wondering if I gushed too soon.

    I know for a fact at least one other lady asked for FF, because the girl I talked to said so. She said the lady had worn a mask to keep out the chemicals. My first thought was, “Where can I get one of those?”

  3. You can get those dust mask things at places like Home Depot. Darc used to wear them when he was woodworking, to keep the dust out of his nose, because of his allergies. I used them too when we’d be using finishing products.

  4. Posted by Sherri on December 2, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Well, I thought of those, but they won’t work for fragrance. You have to get something that can keep out chemical particles. Probably have to get one for paint fumes or something.

Leave a Reply

