Emerging from The Time of the Migraine

I have officially emerged from The Time of the Migraine. I say “officially” because it’s been a whole week since the constant threat lifted, and though I’ve had setbacks over this week, they were temporary and quite manageable.

I guess the extra stinkiness of the holiday season had me worn down to the point that I couldn’t heal up. I finally took to wearing a painter’s mask–you know, the kind that blocks paint fumes, fabric with a little yellow respirator on the front–to the store and when the kids got home from school, because the slightest whiff of any scent whatsoever caused immediate pain in my sinuses and eyes. The Time of the Migraine lasted two whole months, in which my husband had to do way more housework than he cared to,I  scarred my step-daughter for life when her visit left me clutching my head for three days, and I looked like a total Froot Loop having to wear that mask in public.

I will wear it whenever I need to, despite my lower hotness-factor, because the thing really worked. It blocked all scents, even vinegar (which I don’t have a problem with, but it shows the merits of the mask) and by wearing it in smelly places I was able to stave off the migraine for longer periods. I highly recommend getting one of these masks. I found mine in the paint section of Wal-Mart for five bucks, but I’m sure they carry them anyplace they sell paint.

My sinuses have given me trouble for years, and they are the root of my migraines. I’m pretty sure my sensitivity to fragrance arose gradually from the chronic sinus problem rather than the other way around, though I can’t be sure. I have thyroid issues, as well, so it’s hard to know where hormonal misery ends and sinus misery begins. But I finally have a doctor who listens and a course of treatment that may clear it up. My ultimate dream is for my sinuses to work perfectly, to be able to smell any damn thing I want to, and to never have a migraine again.

6 responses to this post.

  1. I am so hoping for recovery for you hon. I can sympathize with the misery you’ve been living with. Figuring out the cause (my niece had hormonally related migraines, for DK it’s sinus) is a major step toward keeping them in check. Makes me sad in a way though – we’ve put men on the moon, but no migraine cure?

    You’re in my prayers, dolly. *hugs* Glad you’re starting to feel better. 🙂

  2. Thanks, Fal. I am feeling better. LOTS better. It helps having friends like you to listen to my complaining. Sorry ’bout that. 🙂

  3. Aww hon, you ain’t heavy, you’re my sis. 🙂

  4. […] to stabalize and see what healed and what didn’t. It seemed to be going pretty well, and then The Time of the Migraine hit the reset button, and I knew I couldn’t wait any […]

  5. I totally understand wearing a mask even though it looks weird. That was one of the best things I did for myself as far as recovery/improvement goes. I made myself wear it any time I was ANYwhere that had any fragrances or VOCs (carpets, particle board furniture, laminate floor, paints etc etc).
    Even after all these years I still feel self-conscious but not as much as I used to.
    I commend you for taking that step!
    Migraines are absolutely brutal and horrible. I’m so sorry you have them and I hope one day you will be free of them!
    I take it you’ve already made your home and family safe for you and are avoiding trigger foods?

    best of luck

  6. […] Food Sensitivities – Detailed VersonPoison Scents […]

Leave a Reply

