Fragrance ingredients to be disclosed

A reader brought this article to my attention: http://www.icis.com/blogs/green-chemicals/2009/08/ It says that the International Fragrance Association plans to begin voluntarily disclosing the ingredients used in the industry. Since it’s voluntary, I doubt they’ll disclose anything that may harm their bottom line, but we’ll see.

On a personal note, my recovery time is way shorter after exposure, especially since I figured out the best thing to do is rest, no matter what. I think with rest and continued avoidance, I may heal enough to re-enter society within the next year. Realistically, I know I’ll probably have symptoms for a long while, if not the rest of my life. But I hope if I listen to my body and give her the support she needs to heal, it will eventually be a problem I used to have.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I think the more we know about what goes into things, the better off we’ll be. At the same time, if I was a perfume maker, I might be hesitant to reveal my secret recipe, you know?

    I’m glad you seem to be better able to handle it. I wonder, would something like Benedryl help at all? Perhaps it’s the hystamine in your body that’s causing the reaction, like it does with other allergens? Just guessing. But I’m glad you’re feeling better. That is always a bonus. 🙂 *hugs*

  2. No, allergy medications don’t help at all, durn it. 🙂

    The secret recipe shouldn’t be secret.

  3. Posted by Elain Mendez on March 8, 2016 at 4:41 pm

    Hi Sherri
    The fragrance Assoc is a voluntary self-regulatory organization. They have disclosed the ingredients approved by them, but of course; manufacturers are not required to adhere to their suggestions. There are 1000’s of chemicals approved for use by them. Most have names you can’t pronounce and the purpose of the chemical is not revealed. They don’t claim the approved chemical ingredients are “safe” for humans (or animals), just “approved”. They also don’t make public the combinations of chemicals approved or not approved. Only, individual chemicals. They do periodically make mention of chemicals they no longer approve for use due to known hazards, but don’t publish the “hazard”. This means they find chemicals in use which are known to be hazardous.

Leave a Reply

